Tuesday, January 29, 2008

Copping wit stress

Hi guys,

I just want to know how you guys are handling these pracs. Im going crazy, does the school realize what its doing to us? Im getting homework from prac plus revision so that Im ready for my patients the next day plus homework for the school. Essentially I have no time to myself or anything else. Because I have so much to do I don't get anything done well and am not taking as much as I can from these pracs. If this continues for another month I just might go crazy!!!! and on top of that I probably will fail my PCR due to lack of time to study. How are you guys doing it? I need some advise before I go postal.

4 comments:

Trudi said...

Hi Shadi,

This is the best advice I have for you and it was once given to me. (I'm starting to feel old now).

The training is much harder than the game. All the preparation you are doing is building to the beginning of a great career. The preparation is hard so that whatever you come up against later (in the game) you will have a strategy for.

Remember that these clinics are also hard in that you move from one to another very quickly, never truly getting the chance to build a relationship with other staff. You also see your patients relatively fleetingly. And you move from one discipline to the next extremely quickly (e.g. cardio - neuro - musculo). When you are settled in a job, you get the chance to establish yourself more and gradually know the "ins and outs" of everything - from staff to protocol, to patients and to where the stash of red physio stickers are hidden.

Keep at it - finish line up ahead.

Trudi

JamesT said...

Hey Shadi,
I'm having the exact same trouble, I just don't feel like i can fit it all in, and at the end of an intense course, I feel totally drained. I've thought a couple times that i don't know how i'm going to get through it and i think this is reflecting in my performance on prac.
I was told recently that a good way to help deal with it is to write out a list of what you have to do for each area, and set aside a time to do it, the idea being that you don't stress about what you have to do next, but what you're currently doing.
Another thing that was said to me is that you've been through harder things before and faced harder challenges, and gotten through them well, why should this one be any different?
They're just a couple of thoughts that helped me when things were feeling a bit much, hope they help a bit,
James

P.S. Remember, Rage on Sunday. That's getting me through right now

FannyG said...

I too Shadi feel as if I am going troppo but the end is near and the light at the end of the tunnel is starting to flicker. Remember semester 2 gem5??? we never thought we would come out of that alive and look where we are now.

I've made a deal with myself that every day for one hour is 'me time' - i swim, jog, read a normal book or just watch tv and find that by doing this it keeps you slightly sane. Planning your day as james said helps with to do lists for the day (and for the week)and seems to make things slightly more manageable. I make a point to do some PCR practice every day when i'm on prac by talking to my supervisor about patients, prioritising their problems etc, and even though there is still so much to go over, it helps.

Good luck with placement 3!
fan

leslie said...

Hi Shadi,

I am going through the exact same thing. This last prac has really taken alot out of me. I was having a really hard time balancing everything that needed to be done (same things that you mentioned) and doing it well. Like yourself, I was not able to do all of the tasks well and felt I didn't gain as much as I could from the experience. My biggest fear is that I struggle or fail the PCR because I haven't had the time to prepare well enough.

I have found making a list of what needs to be done has been helping a bit. When I have it on paper in front of me I seem to find/make the time to do it so I can get the satisfaction of crossing that task off the list.

I suppose all we can do is just keep going and try to do the best we can with what we've got....only 2 more months to go, we can do it!!!

PS...like Fan said, remember Sem2 GEM5...if we were able to get through that we can get through anything:)